top of page

Board Members

Our board consists of seven members of the community. The county commissioners appoint five members and the remaining two members are appointed by the probate judge. At least three of the members must eligible for the services we provide or immediate family members of such people.

Board meetings are held the second Thursday of the Month at 5:30 pm at the MCBDD Administration Building. There are no meetings in July or December. 

2024 Board Meeting Schedule

Thursday, January 11th 

Thursday, February 8th 

Thursday, March 14th

Thursday, April 11th 

Thursday, May 9th 

Thursday, June 13th

Wednesday, August 7th 

Thursday, September 12th

Thursday, October 10th

Thursday, November 14th

The Organizational Board meeting for January 2025 will be Thursday, January, 9th at 5:30pm.

gray blank.png

Ben Whitacre - President

Whitacre was born and raised in Muskingum County and went to West Muskingum High School. Benjamin graduated from Ohio State University with a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration. Benjamin received his Juris Doctor from the University Of Miami School Of Law. Benjamin is an Attorney and Partner with the Law Firm of Micheli, Baldwin, Northrup LLP. 

gray blank.png

Robert Beitzel - Vice President

Beitzel is a lifelong resident of Muskingum County, where he graduated from Zanesville High School. He attended the University of Athens with degrees in Retail Merchandising and Business; then returned to Zanesville and gained employment at Ace Truck Equipment, a company his grandfather started in 1955. 

gray blank.png

Steve Haren - Secretary

Haren was born and raised in Muskingum County and is a graduate of Bishop Rosecrans High School. Steve attended Muskingum University and obtained a Bachelor's degree in Business. Steve is employed by with Park National Bank as a Vice President of Commercial Lending. 

gray blank.png

Tony Coury - Board Member

Tony Coury has been a lifetime resident of the Zanesville community. After graduating from West Muskingum High School in 1992, he joined the United States Marine Corps. 

Following his military commitment, he joined the Zanesville Police Department in 1991.  In 2016 Coury was promoted to Chief of the Zanesville Police Department.

Tony is active in the community participating in various clubs and organizations. Tony and his wife Linda have been for married 27 years. They have two daughters, Allie and Grace.

gray blank.png

Drew Hansen - Board Member

Drew Hansen is a native of New Jersey. He grew up and attended school in the small town of Runnemede near Camden. During high school, he moved to Cambridge, with a transfer in his father's work. He graduated from Cambridge High School and The Ohio State University with a bachelor's degree in biology and at a later time a master's degree as a school counselor. During his K-12 career, he taught science/biology at Maysville High School and served as school counselor at Buckeye Trail High School and Tri-Valley High School.  He is the father of three adult children and four grandchildren.

gray blank.png

Michael Norman - Board Member

Norman is a resident of Muskingum County, He graduated from Tri-Valley High School. Michael attended Ohio University where he obtained a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration.  Michael works at General HealthCare System where he is Vice President of Finance. 

gray blank.png

Carol Hutchins - Board Member

Hutchins has been married for over 20 years and has 2 children. Carol's youngest adult son, Alex, receives various support services through the Board. She has a special interest in advocacy, mental health, and making a difference. Carol is employed at Genesis HealthCare System.

bottom of page